California Bill to Require ANNUAL Emissions Tests for Vehicles
15-Years Old Moves to Senate Appropriations Committee 

Legislation (A.B. 616) to require annual Smog check inspections for vehicles 15-years old and older has been approved by the California Assembly and the Senate Transportation Committee.   The bill now moves to the Senate Appropriations Committee for consideration on August 20th.  A.B. 616 would also require that funds generated through the additional inspection fees be deposited into an account which can be used to scrap older cars.  You may recall that in 2004 a new law was enacted in California to require the lifetime testing of all 1976 and newer model-year vehicles.  Pre-1976 motor vehicles would remain exempt under A.B. 616. 

We Urge You to Contact Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee (List Below) Immediately to Oppose A.B. 616

  • A.B. 616 ignores the minimal impact vintage cars have on air quality.

  • A.B. 616 could entice vintage car owners into allowing these vehicles to be scrapped. 

  • A.B. 616 ignores the fact that vehicles 15-years old and older still constitute a small portion of the overall vehicle population and are a poor source from which to look for emissions reduction. 

  • A.B. 616 ignores the fact that classic vehicles are overwhelmingly well-maintained and infrequently driven. 

  • A.B. 616 would increase costs by creating an annual inspection fee for owners of these vehicles. 

  • A.B. 616 represents another attempt by California legislators and regulators to scapegoat older cars.

Please contact members of the California Senate Appropriations Committee immediately by phone, fax or e-mail to request their opposition to A.B. 616.   

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to stevem@sema.org.  Thank you for your assistance. 

Senate Appropriations Committee

Senator Tom Torlakson (Chair)
Phone: (916) 651-4007
Email: Senator.Torlakson@senate.ca.gov

Senator Dave Cox (Vice Chair)
Phone: (916) 651-4001
Email: Senator.Cox@senate.ca.gov

Senator Samuel Aanestad
Phone: (916) 651-4004
Email: Senator.Aanestad@senate.ca.gov

Senator Roy Ashburn
Phone: (916) 651-4018
Email: Senator.Ashburn@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jim Battin
Phone: (916) 651-4037
Email: Senator.Battin@senate.ca.gov

Senator Gilbert Cedillo
Phone: (916) 651-4022
Email: Senator.Cedillo@senate.ca.gov

Senator Ellen Corbett
Phone: (916) 651-4010
Email: Senator.Corbett@senate.ca.gov

Senator Robert Dutton
Phone: (916) 651-4031
Email: Senator.Dutton@senate.ca.gov

Senator Dean Florez
Phone: (916) 651-4016
Email: Senator.Florez@senate.ca.gov

Senator Sheila Kuehl
Phone: (916) 651-4023
Email: Senator.Kuehl@senate.ca.gov

Senator Jenny Oropeza
Phone: (916) 651-4028
Email: Senator.Oropeza@senate.ca.gov

Senator Mark Ridley-Thomas
Phone: (916) 651-4026
Email: Senator.Ridley-Thomas@senate.ca.gov

Senator George Runner
Phone: (916) 651-4017
Email: Senator.Runner@senate.ca.gov

Senator Joe Simitian
Phone: (916) 651-4011
Email: Senator.Simitian@senate.ca.gov

Senator Darrell Steinberg
Phone: (916) 651-4006
Email: Senator.Steinberg@senate.ca.gov

Senator Mark Wyland
Phone: (916) 651-4038
Email: Senator.Wyland@senate.ca.gov

Senator Leland Yee
Phone: (916) 651-4008
Email: Senator.Yee@senate.ca.gov